writeafirstnovel

follow a rookie writing his first novel

Change is as good as a rest

Or so they say. This week I’ve changed my writing venue. From the office to the dining room/library. In reality this move is about three and a half yards but in perception it is indeed another country. I now have a large window to look out of; and look out of it I do! So first, here is a picture of my new writing space:

2013-01-20 11.12.20

Now, Scrivener is totally brilliant and I won’t hear a word against it but… it is a tad more complex than I actually require and being a Microsoft boy at heart I don’t find it particularly intuitive (probably because it has Mac origins). I came across a package called WriteItNow 4. This is a much simpler no-nonsense piece of software that is aimed specifically at novel-writing. It has a Microsoft look and feel to it and is so intuitive I didn’t have to refer to help files once. The other good thing (at least in my book) is that it saves your project as a single file – with Scrivener, I am never really sure which files are my specific project ones so I end up saving several of them and hoping.

So new space, new software, raring to go? Let’s look out of the window a little bit more first.

We have a lot of birds in our garden, largely due to my partners diligence in feeding them all year round. I have noticed though that there is one particular (very fat) blackbird who obviously thinks he owns the bird table. When he is not stuffing his beak he sits on a nearby pillar and guards it against the other birds. See the culprit here:

2013-01-20 11.07.48 Of course it is a losing battle and he expends much energy on this hopeless cause. Some of the other birds just watch from a nearby tree, waiting for their chance to swoop down mob handed and raid the table. Here they are:

2013-01-20 11.22.14

Right then, new venue, new software, window looked out of, and on with the actual writing. Well, after I’ve had another cup of tea, updated this blog and checked Facebook, Twitter and G+. Yes, then I’ll be ready…..

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Change is as good as a rest

  1. Your blackbird story reminds me of a cat I had once. He had been my cat for a while when I got a kitten. The older cat had very specific rules for the kitten. For one example, the kitten could be on the bed, but only if I wasn’t on the bed. If I lay down, the cat would chase the kitten off the bed. He was very territorial in that way.

Leave a Reply

