writeafirstnovel

follow a rookie writing his first novel

Musing on motivation

I’ve always been a little envious of people who know exactly what they want to do and seem to pursue it with a laser like intensity. I’m afraid though that I’m just not wired that way. In fact, I can’t remember anything that I’ve been so bowled over by that I couldn’t think of doing anything else (well, nothing anyone would pay me for).

Writing for me is no different. I read from people that they couldn’t imagine a life without writing, or that they feel as if something is missing if they don’t. Me, I quite enjoy it once I get into it, but equally, if I don’t write for some time I don’t feel unfulfilled. I think I’ve said before that I always want to write the most when it isn’t possible and when it is, everything else seems more attractive a proposition.

So, why write at all, you ask. It’s a fair question. Short answer is, I don’t really know. Partly it’s because I can, partly its a self-imposed challenge to see if I can manage a full length novel and partly it has something to do with leaving a trace of myself behind, after I’ve gone.

Making a pile of money would be nice too, especially if I could do this without the accompanying fame. So, why exactly do you write and what do you get out of it?

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Musing on motivation

  1. I write because it’s more fun than not writing. Not that deep, I know. (I tend to stay away from the bloggers who are really focused on the anguish and suffering of the creative process 🙂 ).

    I have no expectation of fame or money. I had that dream when I was a musician and the persistent lack of “success” eventually took the fun out of the whole thing.

Leave a Reply

