writeafirstnovel

follow a rookie writing his first novel

My new best friend

Well, I did it. After the relentless egging on from last weeks comments (well one comment actually) I went out and got me a Nexus 7. Mind you, getting one wasn’t all that easy – round here they seem to be as rare as hen’s teeth! The first three stores I tried all had demo models – which they insisted on ‘demoing’ for me before realising they had none in stock, and that gets a little old by the third store. But eventually Tesco came to the rescue (who would have thought); the mighty supermarket juggernaut had just one left. So I took their hand off and trotted home with the little beauty.

Is it any good? Oh yes, and then some.

First up comes the avalanche of free apps; apps for just about anything you can think of – I have apps coming out of my ears now, including my old favourites Dropbox and Evernote.  True, some of my favourites aren’t there, such as Scrivener and Mindmaple but I did find a different mind mapping app that imports to Mindmaple and a word processing app that handles Word file format, which imports to Scrivener. No problem.

So now I’m completely mobile – a peripatetic author! me and my best friend Norman the Nexus 7 – coming to a coffee shop near you…

 

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “My new best friend

  1. I’ve been tempted to buy a Nexus 7, but I’m still finding new and exciting things that my Kindle does, as I talk about here:
    http://u-town.com/collins/?p=3609

  2. I am green with envy.

  3. Good post Anthony, I’ve not tried the text to speech yet but I will now 🙂

  4. Have you used it for any actual writing? Its obviously not the best solution, but the portability (and a portable keyboard) make the option viable…?

    • I only use it for writing when I’m out and about. I save the work to Dropbox then pick it up once home and paste it into scrivener. It wouldn’t be suitable for writing huge amounts over a long session but is fine for the trip to the coffee shop.

      • Unexpected benefit of my Nook tablet (booted into real Android) is that it’s providing convenient local-coffee-bar Internet access since the storm knocked out my access at home (and it’s not coming back any time soon).

        No complaints, though, a lot of people are far (far, far) worse off than me.

  5. I couldn’t believe the devastation it has caused. I hope you get back to normal soon.

Leave a Reply

