writeafirstnovel

follow a rookie writing his first novel

Good week, bad week

As far as novel-writing goes, this week has been a disaster – nothing written. However, I did manage to write much of an assignment for a course I’m taking, so that was good.

I’ve also been thinking about getting an iPad. Primarily, this is to allow me to write while I’m out and about. I’m really undecided. On the plus side, it is compact and fairly easy to type on. On the downside, it doesn’t have scrivener (yet) and everything I’ve read make it seem like a complete faff to get anything you do write on it to be of use elsewhere.

Does anyone out there use an iPad for writing that will eventually form part of a novel? Is there any good novel-writing software for the iPad which will also link back to MS Word? Let me know.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Good week, bad week

  1. I’ve never used an iPad, but it seems a bit of overkill if what you want is a writing-on-the-go machine. Wouldn’t a small, cheap netbook (which could have Word installed on it) get you the same result, without the possible problems?

    Or is my question just revealing my preference for real keyboards? 🙂

    • Not at all, I already use a netbook, but I dont find it particularly good perched on my knee, and more importantly I like shiny new things that promise much (but probably deliver less) 🙂

Leave a Reply

